Home > Boxee > Trakt for the Boxee Box

Trakt for the Boxee Box

Well its been a while since I’ve had anything decent to post about, but today is the day. A new project has been started that allows all of you with Boxee Boxes to scrobble your media via Trakt. This is great news, I have been using Trakt since late last year and its a great service that helps me keep up with new and trending TV Series as well as Movies.

The project itself is Trakt For Boxee and is easily setup by installing Python and pairing the software to your Boxee Box. Then whatever you watch will be recorded online for you to manage or share with friends.

For anyone who is interested in having a play it is very simple to setup and use.

More details can be found here.

Thanks go to cold12 for starting this great project.

If you seem to get stuck setting this up let me know and i’ll write up some batch scripts 🙂

Categories: Boxee Tags: , , , ,
  1. Jon-Leo
    February 14, 2012 at 6:46 am

    Hi Scott
    I am exceptionally novice when it comes to using the command line etc. so I have some issues setting up the script. I finally managed to use the –pair function after some googleing, but i think an error may have occured because the last line written in cmd window was “configParser.Nosectionerror: No section: ‘boxee’.

    However, assuming this was correct after all I went on to the next step. the startup folder for windows seemed to be:

    “%systemdrive%\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup”

    which sent me to
    “C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup”

    when I wrote it in the adress bar of windows explorer. I copied init.traktforboxee there and tried to run the chmod command in the windows cmd, i wrote:

    “chmod a+x C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup/init.traktforboxee”

    but I got the message “chmod is not recognized as an internal or external command operable program or batch file”. I then tried writing the same using python command window,but it “replied”:

    “syntax error: invalid syntax”

    and the x in “init.traktforboxee” has been “marked” with ^. After googleing a little bit more I got the feeling that chmod is not neccessary in windows?

    Moving on. the last problems occured when i started editing the init-file.

    APP_PATH (is this the path to the “intit.traktforboxee”-file, or the traktforboxee.py-file?)

    Also, I could not find the PID-file in the traktforboxee-folder. I don’t understand the deafult_opts=”–daemon” thing in the init-file either

    I’m sorry for all the questions, but I really want to get this stuff to work. I love both my boxee box and Trakt and I really want them to work together.

    • March 7, 2012 at 9:37 am

      Hi Jon-Leo,
      Sorry for the late reply, looks like I overlooked your post.
      Unforunately this startup script is for use on Linux system and cannot be used for Windows. If you wish to do something on Windows you will need to make a Batch script to start python and execute the traktforboxee python file. To do this create a blank text file and then paste this “python TraktForBoxee.py” into it.. you may need the full path to the python files, then save it as “trakt-startup.bat” for example then copy this file into “C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup”. This will then boot the python script everytime you start Windows.
      Hope this helps.

  2. Jon-Leo
    March 7, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Thanks, I will try it. I do however get a message everytime i reboot my system, where windows asks me which program to open init.traktforboxee.py so something has gone right the first time. still, I think something went wrong when I tried to pair my system with my boxee box. Could it be because i blocked my boxee from getting updates by adding some limitations to it’s mac adress in my router?

  3. March 8, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    The message would be due to the changes you made first time round. Should be easy enough to fix by simply removing the file that you added to the Startup menu. Just go to “C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup” and remove the file you added originally. Blocking the MAC address in your router will only affect the way the Boxee Box communicates through it. So the Pairing and updating of Trakt should be unaffected.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

