Home > XBMC > Update XBMC-Live to pre-Eden (nightlies)

Update XBMC-Live to pre-Eden (nightlies)

So I have been running XBMC-Live now for a number of years and am loving the ability to be able to boot my HTPC within 30 seconds and be able to stream my media via my Storage Server (OpenIndiana). Lately I have posted about a few of the newer features which have only been available in the nightlies but unfortunately the XBMC-Live trunk has not had an update for quite some time via the official and stable repositories so I have not been able to experience the DTS-HD audio on some of my newer movies and AirPlay that makes it a lot easier to control my music while in another room of my house.

While browsing around the XBMC forums I came across a post that covered just what I was after, updating XBMC-Live to the latest bleeding edge release. In the interest of testing and updating of my system I have streamlined a bit of the code to make things a bit quicker for first time updater’s.

Firstly we have two choices of ways to update our system we can either connect directly to the console of the system by pressing Ctrl+Alt+F2 or we can remotely connect to the machine with XBMC-Live by SSH, I prefer to use PuTTY or Terminal via Ubuntu. Once we have access to the system we need to login, the defaults for the XBMC-Live builds are xbmc/xbmc. Once we have logged in and been presented with the prompt we can start the upgrade process.

NOTE: We will be using unstable builds of XMBC which may cause your system to stop responding or even worse booting. These steps are only recommended for XBMC-Live computers that are based on Ubuntu. I will not be held responsible for any changes you make while following the below steps to update your system. You have been WARNED!

Now that we have logged into the console of the XBMC-Live machine we need to perform a few maintenance commands to ensure we have all the up-to-date components, if prompted for the password it should be xbmc unless it has been previously changed:

sudo apt-get install python-software-properties -y

Now that we have the latest python software installed we need to add the XBMC unstable builds repository:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc/unstable

UPDATE: You can even try a different repo as I have noticed the Official XBMC repo is a bit behind at times, see this one below, it is ok to have both the official and below repo, as the latest XBMC build will be installed regardless.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:mario-sitz/ppa

In order to get the latest XBMC builds we need to refresh the repository and install the latest XBMC build, this can be done with the following command:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc-bin

Ok we are almost done, you will most likely see that many of the previous XBMC software packages will be removed, this includes the Live package which allowed for the auto starting of XBMC when the machine is powered on. Theres no need to worry as thanks to a forum member we have a nice autostart script which will help us get around this issue. Enter the below command to create the script file:

sudo nano /etc/init/xbmc.conf

Now we need to paste or type in the below code:

# xbmc-standalone
description "Autostart XBMC"

start on (filesystem and stopped udevtrigger)
stop on runlevel [06]

task
console output
emits starting-x

exec /bin/su xbmc -c "/usr/bin/startx /etc/X11/Xsession /usr/bin/xbmc-standalone"

UPDATE: If you are using a different keyboard layout the quotes may be incorrect, so when copying the above code make sure that you retype the quotes, just in case :) Thanks go to Jan for this.

When you have finished the above press Ctrl + X then press Y to save the file to the system. If you have for any reason changed the username on your XBMC-Live machine then you will need to rename the username above (exec /bin/su -c …) in the script to reflect your username. Generally most XBMC-Live machines will just have the username as xbmc as shown above.

Congratulations you are now running the latest nightly build of XBMC on your XBMC-Live machine. It is recommended that you reboot your machine now.

For all future updates to your machine you will just need to issue the below command via the console:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

Happy XBMCing :)

Thanks go to the forum members The-Boxhead, hudo, BurningSky and darkscout. Original post can be found here.

  1. kirbypuckett
    October 8, 2011 at 12:24 am

    I found your blog post by searching on Google, very nice and to the point.

    Question though…

    Have you had any issues since upgrading? I know that these releases are unstable, but my main concern is my remote. I have a Harmony One remote that took quite a while to configure and I don’t want to risk losing that functionality. Any idea if upgrading to a nightly would wipe something like that out?

    • October 10, 2011 at 9:51 am

      hi kirbypuckett,
      I too use a Harmony One to control my setup at home and since upgrading I have not had any issues with custom button configurations, As far as I am aware there have been no changes to the code to affect the control via remotes. Are you doing something spcial via your Harmony like wake up from sleep or something?
      The only thing that I have noticed is that since updating ot the latest nightly my Music will not work via Party mode anymore, but I think that this may be an issue with my music since changing several folder locations, so I will be removing the Music DB today and trying to rescan the folder again into the Library.
      If you have any issues let me know and ill see what I can help with.
      Regards,
      Scott

  2. Jan
    October 12, 2011 at 12:08 am

    Great!! Thanks a lot!
    But at first I had problems with the autostart script but the I figured out that the quotation marks are the problem and there was a space missing in the exec command, it should look like this:

    # xbmc-standalone
    description “Autostart XBMC”

    start on (filesystem and stopped udevtrigger)
    stop on runlevel [06]

    task
    console output
    emits starting-x

    exec /bin/su xbmc -c “/usr/bin/startx /etc/X11/Xsession /usr/bin/xbmc-standalone”

  3. Jan
    October 12, 2011 at 12:10 am

    Hmm, seems like your Blog-Theme changes the font…so just change them after pasting them into xbmc.conf…

    • October 12, 2011 at 9:29 am

      Thanks for pointing this out Jan, I have updated the post to reflect this change.

  4. December 20, 2011 at 9:36 am

    Hi, and thanks for this post I was really hoping to get my XBMC live updated and get the weather working again

    Not sure whats gone wrong, but after performing the steps outlined in the blog, my XBMC boots to a console prompting for login. When i then log in and do a startx, it brings up my XBMC GUI, but just hangs. I can crash out of it with ALT+CTRL+F2, but not sure what might be going on here.

    Not expecting you to trouble shoot my installation :) but if anything springs to mind would be great if there might be a simple fix.

    Thanks
    Paul

    • December 20, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Hi Paul,
      Just noticed a stuff up in the last line of the script as it was missing some quotes.
      Please make sure it looks like the below:
      exec /bin/su xbmc -c "/usr/bin/startx /etc/X11/Xsession /usr/bin/xbmc-standalone"
      I have updated the post to correct this as well, see if this helps, do you get a log file when XBMC hangs or are you just stuck?

      • December 20, 2011 at 12:25 pm

        Paul,
        Also give the below repo a go as I have been using this one for a few weeks now and its a bit more up to date with code:
        sudo add-apt-repository ppa:mario-sitz/ppa
        When you add this make sure to refresh and install xbmc again with the below:
        sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc-bin

  5. December 21, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Thanks for your response & update. The box now boots into the GUI which is cool :) It still hangs however during the startup scan.
    The log contains the following errors – im off to do some googling :)

    ERROR: CZeroconfAvahi::addService(): failed to add service named:XBMC JSONRPC@$(HOSTNAME) type:_xbmc-jsonrpc._tcp port:8080. Error:Invalid Error Code :/ FIXME!
    19:54:12 T:8251184 ERROR: Control 1 in window 10099 has been asked to focus, but it can’t

    • December 21, 2011 at 7:29 pm

      I deleted my .profile file and it boots up fine :) just have to reset my appearance settings now.
      Thanks again Scott :) Top Class post.

      • December 22, 2011 at 9:33 am

        Great to hear, glad I could help in some way.
        Do you know why the crashing was happening, or was it just a corrupted profile?

      • john
        February 20, 2012 at 10:24 am

        what command was used to delete the profile.

        Thanks

  6. December 22, 2011 at 10:31 am

    I googled a few things, I think XBMC freezing after updates… and found a few posts where deleting the profile seemed to fix it. So not really sure why but all back now. Just had to update the library again and everythings fine. I have weather!!!
    Next steps when i get time is to look at accessing my XBCM from the net so when im at work i can browse my media… i already have the SMB sharing so it working in my home LAN.

    • January 3, 2012 at 6:59 pm

      Hi Paul,
      Glad it’s all working now. Saw something about having to backup and sometimes recreate the library as they wouldn’t upgrade properly to Eden.
      How are you trying to do the remote access as I would also be interested in this. If you find any good info I will happily write about it.

  7. Ryan
    December 30, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    I followed the instructions above on my xbmc-live system. When i run sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc-bin it says:
    xbmc is already the newest version.
    xbmc-bin is already the newest version.
    When i reboot it loads up the original xbmc-live version not eden.
    I have added both repo’s as indicated.

    Suggestions?

    • Ryan
      December 31, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      Ok never mind, I ran apt-get install xbmc xbmc-bin tonight and it did what it needed to. Now i get the xbmc splash screen then fades to black. Something else wrong :/

      • January 3, 2012 at 6:53 pm

        Hi Ryan,
        Sorry for the delay been on holidays. Are you able to provide a log file? Also what video card are you using?

      • Ryan
        January 6, 2012 at 12:11 pm

        Hi Scott,

        Thanks for the reply, no worries on the delay holiday season is a busy time. I forgot to mention that my xbmc-live version for is not the stock live disc . I am running xbmcfreak’s livecd version for my Zotac ION330 installed to hdd, which may influence the upgrade process you posted. I found out by accident that if I wait for a minute or two the xserver completely craps out the session xbmc is supposed to be running on. I can then type startx and the xbmc-live-eden loads up???? So am not not dead in the water, I reboot the machine every couple of months at the most. As for log files which one would help?

      • January 10, 2012 at 1:51 pm

        Ryan,
        Just the one from your home directory will suffice (/home//.xbmc/xbmc.log).

      • Ryan
        January 10, 2012 at 2:37 pm

        http://pastebin.com/2bc8yUTn

        Thanks for looking!

      • January 12, 2012 at 12:14 pm

        Looks like the JSONRPC fails to start for some reason. Even has an error code that hasn’t been defined yet. I noticed that you are running the 30-12-2011 build, might be an idea to update to the latest build and see if this is still a problem or at least it might have a proper error code that we can investigate.

  8. Ryan
    January 12, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Hi Scott,

    I upgraded to Jan 11 version, identical log file. JSONRPC craps out.

    • January 17, 2012 at 11:59 am

      Hi Ryan,

      Noticed that a lot of work is currently being done on the JSON-RPC so this may be a reason for the problem. Lets hope they can resolve this for you in a future build.

  9. Jaspov
    January 26, 2012 at 12:05 am

    Thanks, worked great to update to beta 1

  10. January 29, 2012 at 6:01 am

    i get the following on a freshly installed xbmc-live after proceeding with the steps described:

    @XBMCLive:~$ start xbmc
    start: Rejected send message, 1 matched rules; type=”method_call”, sender=”:1.13″ (uid=1000 pid=1020 comm=”start) interface=”com.ubuntu.Upstart0_6.Job” member=”Start” error name=”(unset)” requested_reply=0 destination=”com.ubuntu.Upstart” (uid=0 pid=1 comm=”/sbin/init”))

    any idead?

    • January 30, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      Hi there,
      If you followed the guide properly you shouldn’t have to do anything via the console/terminal anymore.
      But if you do find that you are thrown to a login prompt then you can just type “start x” to get XBMC to start up or even just “xbmc” after logging in.
      Also if you setup the autostart script you should have to do this, as it will autostart XBMC on bootup.
      Let me know how you go.

  11. August 2, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!

    I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  1. November 9, 2011 at 12:03 pm
  2. December 25, 2011 at 10:09 am
  3. January 20, 2012 at 12:11 pm
  4. January 23, 2012 at 8:51 am
  5. February 14, 2012 at 11:17 am
  6. February 29, 2012 at 10:33 am
  7. March 5, 2012 at 1:26 pm
  8. March 26, 2012 at 9:42 am

Leave a Reply

